This image shows the people who are up for election in the 2022 AASLH Council and Leadership Nominating Committee elections.

The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) announces the slate of candidates for the 2022 AASLH Council election. There are three officer candidates, four candidates for four spots on the AASLH Council, and six candidates for three spots on the Leadership Nominating Committee.

The Council sets policy and provides leadership for the Association, is responsible for strategic planning, and represents AASLH members and the field at large. The Leadership Nominating Committee works with staff and the AASLH Council to identify AASLH’s and the field’s leadership and nominates a slate of officers, Council members, and LNC members.

Additional nominees may be added to the slate by submitting a valid petition before June 30, 2022, supported by 50 or more individual or institutional AASLH members per nominee. Petitions must include name and affiliation of proposed candidate, and “signatures” of individual or institutional members in the form of their AASLH membership number. An institution’s CEO or Board Chair may sign for an institutional member. Send petitions to [email protected]. The elections process is detailed in the AASLH Bylaws.

The 2022 election will be open July 1 – August 1.

Officers for Council

  • Christy Coleman for Vice Chair, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation (Williamsburg, VA)
  • Rebekah Beaulieu for Treasurer, Florence Griswold Museum (Old Lyme, CT)
  • Scott Wands for Secretary, Connecticut Humanities (Middletown, CT)

Council Candidates (4 open seats)

  • Lisa Anderson, Utah Valley University Woodbury Art Museum (Orem, UT)
  • JerriAnne Boggis, Black Heritage Trail of New Hampshire (Portsmouth, NH)
  • Stacey Halfmoon, Shawnee Tribe Cultural and Historic Preservation (Miami, OK)
  • Christie Weininger, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Library and Museums (Fremont, OH)

Leadership Nominating Committee Candidates (3 open seats)

  • Rich Cooper, Conner Prairie (Fishers, IN)
  • Hadley Drodge, National Afro-American Museum Cultural Center, Central State University (Wilberforce, OH)
  • Jennifer Edginton, Illinois State Museum (Springfield, IL)
  • Lance Wheeler, National Center for Civil and Human Rights (Atlanta, GA)
  • Lisa Worley, Edsel & Eleanor Ford House (Grosse Pointe Shores, MI)
  • Carolina Zataray, Agua Caliente Cultural Museum (Palm Springs, CA)

For more information about the AASLH Council and committees, visit