We are proud to announce the election results for four open spots on the AASLH Council, three Council officers, and two spots on our Leadership Nominating Committee.  The Council sets policy and provides leadership for the Association, is responsible for strategic planning, and represents AASLH members and the field at large. The Leadership Nominating Committee works with staff and the AASLH Council to identify AASLH’s and the field’s leadership and points direction for a slate of officers, Council members, and LNC members. New committee members will begin their terms at the 2018 Meeting of the Membership in Kansas City, and we look forward to welcoming them!

Council Officers

Vice Chair

  • Norman Burns, President and CEO, Conner Prairie, Fishers, IN


  • Brent Ott, Vice-President of Business Operations and Chief Financial Officer, The Henry Ford, Dearborn, MI


  • Dina Bailey, International Coalition of Sites of Conscience, Atlanta, GA

New Council Members 

  • Christy Coleman, CEO, American Civil War Museum, Richmond, VA
  • Jeff Matsuoka, Vice President, Business and Operations, Indiana Historical Society, Indianapolis, IN
  • Alexandra Rasic, Director of Public Programs, Workman and Temple Family Homestead Museum, City of Industry, CA
  • Dennis Vásquez, Superintendent, Petroglyph National Monument, Albuquerque, NM

New Leadership Nominating Committee Members

  • Helen Wong Smith, Librarian/Archivist of State Historic Preservation Division and Executive Director of the Kaua’i Historical Society, Lihu’e, HI
  • Gretchen Sullivan Sorin, Director, Cooperstown Graduate Program, Cooperstown, NY